湾流历史

公务航空的先驱

所有公务机制造商,皆可追根溯源至湾流。

而专用公务机则由格鲁曼飞机工程公司(Grumman Aircraft Engineering Corporation)联合创始人罗伊•格鲁曼(Roy Grumman)于二战结束时首创。他设想利用公司制造强大Grumman战斗机的专有技术生产小型客机,以促进战后经济繁荣。十三年后,格鲁曼(Grumman)公司推出了湾流I,这种飞机给通用航空带来了革命性变化,并让公司大获成功,一跃成为引领全行业的标准制定者。

湾流飞行里程碑

湾流飞机在此后的几十年里表现卓越,广受赞誉。对创新的格外注重以及对客户服务的大力投入造就了湾流多项行业第一,其飞机创下无数世界纪录,技术创新遥遥领先,全球服务和支持网络无与伦比,客户群遍布世界各地。回首过去,展望未来,湾流必将再创辉煌。

GI首飞

1958年8月14日-湾流GI首飞

湾流I(GI)开世界专用公务机之先河,其采用下单翼上置涡桨发动机设计。GI能在33,600英尺/10,241米高度以0.53马赫飞行2,540海里/4,704公里。客舱采用公务构型时可容纳多达12名乘客。GI于1958年8月14日首飞,1959年投入运营。在长达11年的生产期内,共制造了200多架,其中许多目前仍在服役。

GII首飞/GII首次飞越大西洋

1966年10月2日-湾流GII首飞
1968年5月4日-湾流GII成为首型不经停飞越大西洋的公务喷气机

湾流GII能够不经停飞越北美或大西洋。其设计工作始于1960年,工程师们力图为湾流打造一型喷气式飞机。为此,他们将喷气式发动机置于机身后部,并将机尾改为T形构型,同时采用后掠机翼,以增加航程和飞行高度。GII可在45,000英尺/13,761米高度以0.88马赫飞行3,680海里/6,815公里。其客舱为公务构型时可容纳19名乘客。1968年5月4日,GII成为首型从美国直飞欧洲的公务喷气机。该型机在生产期内共售出250多架,其中包括两种衍生机型,一种为增加航程加装了翼尖油箱,另一种则为提高性能使用了新型机翼及翼梢小翼。

迁“都”萨凡纳(Savannah)

1967年9月29日-湾流飞机的生产转至乔治亚州萨凡纳工厂

1967年,格鲁曼(Grumman)公司将其湾流运营部门迁至乔治亚州萨凡纳,以分离军机和民机生产业务,并提高效率。高层认为无论劳动力供给、土地供应、交通设施,还是良好的天气条件,萨凡纳都适合作为湾流的永久家园。

作为美国国家航空航天局(NASA)航天飞机训练机

1973 – NASA购入两架湾流GII作为航天飞机训练机

NASA开始使用湾流GII培训航天飞机机组人员。为模拟航天飞机着陆时的飞行特性,格鲁曼(Grumman)公司对GII进行了改装,在外部增加了空中反推装置、直接升力襟翼和翼尖侧力发生器,并重新设计了左侧驾驶舱,以模拟航天飞机驾驶舱。

GIII首飞/GIII飞越两极

1979年12月2日-湾流GIII首飞
1983年11月-湾流GIII成为首架飞越两极的公务喷气机

湾流GIII较之其前身机型湾流GII有了新的突破。GIII能够飞行3,760海里/6,964公里,其新设计的机翼和增加的翼梢小翼让燃油效率提高23%。GIII于1979年12月2日首飞,1980年末投入运营。该型机在1980年至1986年间共售出200多架。

GIV首飞

1985年9月19日-湾流GIV首飞

湾流GIV凭借其洲际航程和先进的驾驶舱和客舱技术,给公务航空带来了革命性变化。先进的发动机和大型轻质机翼结合,让GIV的航程达4,300海里/7,964公里,巡航速度达0.88马赫。GIV是民用航空中首个在驾驶舱配有数字式飞行管理计算机的机型,这既提高了燃油效率,又减轻了驾驶员工作量,并首次给客舱安装了卫星通信系统。GIV于1985年9月19日首飞,1987年8月投入运营。从1993年开始,湾流在GIV的基础上,生产了一款升级版机型-湾流GIV-SP。GIV和GIV-SP共售出500多架。

ITF设施落成

1995年2月25日 — 湾流首个综合测试设施落成

湾流为GV建立了一个综合测试设施(ITF)。该设施包括GV驾驶舱的模拟舱,可以在机型研发期间测试航电设备和其他电子系统,并进行人为因素分析。湾流后来为G280、G450、G550和G650建立了类似的ITF设施。

GV首飞/GV获得科利尔奖(Collier Trophy)

1995年11月28日-湾流GV首飞
1997年5月-湾流GV因其先进的设计和制造技术而获得久负盛名的罗伯特·科利尔奖(Robert J. Collier Trophy)

湾流GV开公务航空超远程喷气机之先河。其航速可达0.90马赫,飞行高度为51,000英尺/15,545米,航程为6,500海里/12,038千米,足以从纽约直飞东京。湾流在GV驾驶舱中首次推出其平视显示器,并接入网络,让客舱成为配备完善的计算机化办公室。采用行政布局时,GV通常可容纳4名机组人员和14名乘客。GV于1995年11月28日首飞,1997年6月投入运营。至今交付的GV已超过190架。

纳入通用动力麾下

1999年7月30日-通用动力收购湾流宇航公司

1999年,国防工业巨头通用动力(General Dynamics)以53亿美元收购了湾流宇航。通用动力之前曾经拥有另一家飞机制造商,而且为美国军方生产过F-16战斗机。通用动力始终将研发放在第一位。

收购银河宇航公司(Galaxy Aerospace)

2001年5月1日 — 湾流收购了银河宇航公司,并将该公司的中型飞机更名为G100和G200

湾流通过收购银河宇航公司(Galaxy Aerospace),将中型飞机加入其机队。湾流升级了银河宇航公司的两种中型公务机Galaxy和Astra SPX,并将这两种机型分别重新命名为湾流G200和湾流G100。这两种喷气机拥有洲际航程,且客舱宽敞,非常舒适。

APS服务计划/FAST计划

2002年5月7日-湾流推出空运产品支持服务计划
2011年5月16日 - 湾流成立外场与空运支持小组(FAST)

空运产品支持计划是航空客户服务的新标杆。湾流将一架G100改装成零部件运送和维修专用机,供维修技术人员搭乘,为北美或加勒比地区处于保修期内的飞机提供迅捷的维修服务。这种服务后来扩展至中美洲。随着外场与空运支持小组(FAST)的成立,湾流在2011年增加了全球移动服务。FAST技术人员乘坐飞机、火车、汽车或箱式货车提供服务。

G550首飞

2002年7月18日-湾流G550首飞
2003 - 湾流G550由于在创新型飞机的设计、测试和制造方面取得前沿成果,同时大幅提高安全性并采用了影响力深远的先进航空科技而荣获久负盛名的罗伯特·科利尔奖(Robert J. Collier Trophy)

湾流G550彻底改变了公务航空中的飞行员体验。该机采用了新型PlaneView驾驶舱。PlaneView集成了若干航电功能,包括被称为增强视景系统的红外摄像机,它可以在低可见度情况下为飞行员提供地形和跑道灯图像。G550以其先进的技术荣获了2003年罗伯特·科利尔奖(Robert J. Collier Trophy),这是北美航空航天业界久负盛名的科技成果奖。G550拓展了超远程公务的抵达范围,将世界各地的城市,如首尔和佛罗里达州奥兰多(Orlando)、华盛顿特区和迪拜以及东京和巴黎等连接起来。G550可容纳4名机组人员和18名乘客。该型机于2002年7月18日首飞,2003年投入运营。

G450首飞/G450使用生物燃料

2003年4月30日-湾流G450首飞
2011年6月22日-湾流G450成为首架使用生物燃料飞越大西洋的公务喷气机

湾流G450将湾流G550的先进技术和湾流GIV颇受欢迎的机体融为一身。湾流将PlaneView驾驶舱集成到G450中,并为其重新设计了机翼,以减少阻力并增加载油量。采用行政布局时,G450可搭乘12到16名乘客。该型机于2003年4月30日首飞,2005年5月投入运营。

G150首飞

2005年5月3日-湾流G150首飞

湾流G150重新定义了中型公务喷气机的舒适性和效率。该型机可搭载6到8名乘客,并拥有宽敞的客舱、同级领先的速度和燃油效率,以及跨国航程。G150可以0.75马赫飞行3,000海里/5,556公里,其最大航速为0.85马赫。该型机于2005年5月3日首飞,2006年8月投入运营。

RDC研发中心落成

2006年5月19日-湾流萨凡纳(Savannah)研发中心落成

湾流扩建了其在乔治亚州萨凡纳的总部,以增加一个研发中心。该项目是造价4亿美元扩建计划的一部分。研发中心(RDC)汇聚了来自工程、制造、规划、产品支持和材料领域的顶尖专家。

Quiet Spike(安静长钉)飞行测试

2006年10月23日-湾流Quiet Spike首次实现超音速飞行

革命性的Quiet Spike™是湾流多年来对超音速飞行不懈研究的结晶。这种伸缩装置安置在机头,将音爆冲击波散布于24英尺长的音爆消减器以及机体表面上,以将突破音障所带来的影响降到最小。NASA于2006年首次对安装在改装F-15战斗机上的Quiet Spike进行概念验证飞行测试。

SV-PFD合成视景-主飞行显示系统崭露头角

2008年1月28日-湾流首次推出合成视景-主飞行显示系统

合成视景-主飞行显示系统可向飞行员提供前方环境的虚拟视景,从而提高安全性。SV-PFD系统从近地警告系统获取数据,生成地形、障碍物、机场跑道和进近视景的三维彩色图像。湾流于2006年宣布了针对SV-PFD系统的多项计划,并于2008年推出该系统。

G650首飞/G650投入运营

2009年11月25日-湾流G650首飞
2012年12月-湾流G650作为世界最快的公务喷气机投入运营
2013 - 湾流G650由于在飞机性能、机舱舒适性及安全性方面所取得的卓越技术进步而荣获久负盛名的罗伯特·科利尔奖(Robert J. Collier Trophy)

湾流G650作为公务航空的先进飞机首次亮相。该型机可在51,000英尺/15,545米的巡航高度以0.85马赫的巡航速度飞行7,000海里/12,964公里。 G650的最大飞行速度为0.925马赫。 其客舱容积为2,138立方英尺/60.54立方米,配有16个大型全景舷窗, 生活区多达4个,可容纳18名乘客。G650于2009年11月25日首飞,并作为世界最快的民用飞机在2012年12月投入运营。

G280首飞/G280投入运营

2009年12月11日-湾流G280首飞

湾流G280是超中型公务机的新标杆。G280拥有洲际航程,且巡航速度与远程飞机相当,同时耗油量比竞争对手少12%。客舱便利设施包括客舱管理工具和飞行中可进入的行李舱。湾流将PlaneView驾驶舱用于G280并配备自动刹车和自动油门系统。采用行政布局时,G280可乘坐8到10名乘客。G280于2009年12月12日首飞,2012年11月投入运营。

G650创下飞行速度世界纪录

2013年7月3日-湾流G650向西环球飞行41小时7分钟,创下世界纪录。

湾流G650向西环球飞行41小时7分钟创下飞行速度世界纪录,而且在途中还创下了22项城市间飞行速度记录。这次20,310海里/37,614公里的飞行始点和终点均为加州圣地亚哥San Diego),中途停靠关岛、迪拜和佛得角。G650在各个航段均以0.90马赫的标准高速巡航速度飞行。

最新推出G650ER

2014年5月19日-湾流推出G650ER

湾流G650ER将公务旅行直飞距离增至7,500海里/13,890公里。该旗舰机型在正式推出前,已试飞过主要城市对,例如,从香港到新泽西州泰特波罗(Teterboro),从洛杉矶到澳大利亚的墨尔本。 G650ER将于2015年第一季度开始交付。

湾流公布全新G500及G600飞机

2014年10月14日-湾流公布新飞机系列

全新湾流G500及G600对性能、客舱设计及技术进行了深入优化,成为引领同级飞机的新标杆。这两种飞机不仅比同级其他飞机速度更快、航程更远,而且其宽体客舱独具风格,舒适性无可比拟。湾流在G500及G600中采用了全新尖端技术,配备了Symmetry Flight Deck™(和谐驾驶舱)、触摸显示屏、主动控制侧杆及Intelligence-by-Wire™(智能电传)飞行控制系统。

G650ER投入运营

2014年11月14日-湾流新旗舰飞机开始交付

湾流G650ER将公务旅行直飞距离增至7,500海里/13,890公里。该旗舰机型在正式推出前,已试飞过主要城市对,例如,从香港到新泽西州泰特波罗(Teterboro),从洛杉矶到澳大利亚的墨尔本。G650ER的最大飞行速度为0.925马赫,客舱设有四个独立的起居区,可容纳多达18位乘客。

G500 首次飞行

2015年5月18日-湾流G500首飞

湾流G500采用 Symmetry Flight Deck™ 和全新的设计,进一步优化了先进的性能,提高了乘客的舒适度,成为开辟驾驶舱技术新时代的先锋。该机型的最大航程 5,200 海里/9,630 公里,最大巡航速度0.90马赫,最高飞行速度0.925马赫。G500 有三个独立的活动区,最多可载 19 名乘客,采用革命性的Symmetry Flight Deck™,并配有业内最早主动控制驾驶杆和触屏航电控制器。该机型计划于 2018年初投入使用。

G600 首次飞行

2016 年 12 月 17 日- 湾流 G600 执行首次飞行

湾流G600成为创新、客舱风格和舒适性的新标杆。该机型的最大航程6,500海里/12,038公里,最大巡航速度0.90马赫,最高飞行速度0.925马赫。G600采用革命性的Symmetry Flight Deck™,设有四个独立的活动区,最多可容纳19名乘客,还可根据需求组装出一个特等舱或中型套房。该机型计划于2018年投入使用。

了解先驱机型

湾流G280

湾流G280

湾流G280在两个方面均超出初始设计目标:即航程增加及快速强劲的爬升能力,从而领先于同级公务机。

湾流G550

湾流G550

不管是因为荣获享有盛名的罗伯特•科利尔奖(Robert J. Collier Trophy),还是由于机主们价值领先公务机的美誉,G550均备受推崇。但成功的背后是什么呢?

湾流G650

湾流G650

湾流G650能够在当天抵达相隔遥远的城市,其客舱压力高度之低为其他公务机所不及,这让乘客到达目的地时精神振作、头脑清醒,从容抓住任何商机。

Gulfstream History

Pioneering Business Aviation

All business aviation, regardless of manufacturer, traces its roots to Gulfstream.

Roy Grumman, co-founder of Grumman Aircraft Engineering Corporation, proposed the development of a purpose-built business aircraft at World War II’s end. He envisioned leveraging the company’s expertise from building robust Grumman warplanes to create scaled-down airliners that could facilitate the post-war economic boom. Thirteen years later, Grumman introduced the Gulfstream I, an aircraft that revolutionized general aviation and positioned the company as an industry high-flyer charting a course for all others to follow.

Gulfstream Flight Milestones

Gulfstream aircraft have grown their reputation for excellence in the decades since. A focus on innovation and a commitment to customer service are reflected in a history of industry firsts, record-setting aircraft, technological innovation, global service and support initiatives, and an expanding worldwide customer base. At Gulfstream, our history defines our future.

GI First Flight

August 14, 1958 - Gulfstream GI makes first flight

The Gulfstream I introduced the world to the purpose-built business aircraft. The aircraft featured turboprop engines mounted atop low wings. The GI flew up to Mach 0.53 at 33,600 feet/10,241 meters with a range of 2,540 nautical miles/4,704 kilometers. The cabin accommodated up to 12 passengers when configured as a business aircraft. The GI first flew on August 14, 1958, and entered service in 1959. During an 11-year production run, Gulfstream produced more than 200 Gulfstream I aircraft, many of which are still in service today.

GII First Flight/GII First To Cross Atlantic

October 2, 1966 - Gulfstream GII makes first flight
May 4, 1968 - Gulfstream GII becomes first business jet to cross Atlantic Ocean nonstop

The Gulfstream GII gave the business flyer the ability to cross North America or the Atlantic Ocean nonstop. Design efforts began in 1960 with engineers striving to create a jet-powered Gulfstream. The jet engines were mounted on the rear of the fuselage and the tail modified in a T configuration. The wings were swept back to increase range and altitude. The aircraft flew up to Mach 0.88 at 45,000 feet/13,761 meters with a range of 3,680 nautical miles/6,815 kilometers. The cabin could accommodate up to 19 passengers in a business jet configuration. The GII became the first business jet to fly nonstop from the United States to Europe on May 4, 1968. More than 250 GIIs sold during the aircraft’s production run including two variants, one with wing-tip tanks to increase range and the other with a new wing and winglets to enhance performance.

Savannah Production

September 29, 1967 - Gulfstream production shifts to Savannah, Georgia, facility

Grumman moved its Gulfstream operations to Savannah, Georgia, in 1967 to split its aircraft manufacturing business into military and civilian divisions and improve efficiency. Officials cited labor supply, land availability, transportation facilities and favorable weather conditions for choosing Savannah as Gulfstream’s permanent home.

NASA Shuttle Trainers

1973 - NASA purchases two Gulfstream GIIs as space shuttle trainers

NASA began training space shuttle crews in the Gulfstream GII. Grumman modified the aircraft to simulate space shuttle flight characteristics during its landing sequence by adding in-flight thrust reversers, direct-lift flaps and side-force generators to the exterior and by redesigning the left side of the cockpit to mimic the shuttle’s flight deck.

GIII First Flight/GIII Both Poles

December 2, 1979 - Gulfstream GIII makes first flight
November 1983 - Gulfstream GIII becomes first business jet to fly over both poles

The Gulfstream GIII stretched the limits of its predecessor, the Gulfstream GII. The GIII could travel 3,760 nautical miles/6,964 kilometers and a new wing design plus the addition of winglets resulted in a 23 percent improvement in fuel efficiency. The GIII first flew on December 2, 1979, and entered service in late 1980. More than 200 GIIIs were sold between 1980 and 1986.

GIV First Flight

September 19, 1985 - Gulfstream GIV makes first flight

The Gulfstream GIV revolutionized business aviation with its intercontinental range and advanced cockpit and cabin technology. Cutting-edge engines combined with a large yet light wing gave the GIV a 4,300-nautical-mile/7,964-kilometer range and a Mach 0.88 cruising speed. The GIV’s cockpit was the first in civil aviation to feature digital flight management computers, increasing fuel efficiency while reducing pilot workload. The cabin included satellite communications for the first time. The GIV first flew on September 19, 1985, and entered into service in August 1987. Gulfstream produced an updated version, the Gulfstream GIV-SP, beginning in 1993. More than 500 GIV and GIV-SPs sold.

ITF Opens

February 25, 1995 - Gulfstream opens first Integration Test Facility

Gulfstream built an Integration Test Facility for the Gulfstream GV. The ITF included a mock-up of a GV’s cockpit that allowed for testing of avionics and other electronic systems as well as human-factors analysis while the aircraft was in development. Gulfstream later created similar ITFs for the Gulfstream G280, the Gulfstream G450, the Gulfstream G550 and the Gulfstream G650.

GV First Flight/GV Collier Trophy

November 28, 1995 - Gulfstream GV makes first flight
May 1997 - Gulfstream GV wins prestigious Robert J. Collier Trophy for advanced design and manufacturing techniques

The Gulfstream GV introduced the ultra-long-range jet to business aviation. The GV flew up to Mach 0.90 and at altitudes of 51,000 feet/15,545 meters and covered 6,500 nautical miles/12,038 kilometers, or enough to fly nonstop from New York to Tokyo. Gulfstream debuted its head-up display in the GV’s cockpit and wired the cabin as a complete computerized office. The GV typically accommodated four crew members and 14 passengers in an executive configuration. The GV first flew on November 28, 1995, and entered into service in June 1997. More than 190 GVs were delivered.

General Dynamics Purchase

July 30, 1999 - General Dynamics acquires Gulfstream Aerospace

Defense giant General Dynamics purchased Gulfstream Aerospace for US$5.3 billion in 1999. The corporation previously owned another aircraft manufacturer and had also produced F-16 fighters for the U.S. military. General Dynamics made research and development a priority.

Galaxy Aerospace

May 1, 2001 - Gulfstream acquires Galaxy Aerospace and rebrands Galaxy’s midsize aircraft as G100 and G200

Gulfstream added midsize aircraft to its fleet by purchasing Galaxy Aerospace. Gulfstream upgraded Galaxy’s two midsize business aircraft, the Galaxy and Astra SPX, and rebranded them the Gulfstream G200 and Gulfstream G100, respectively. The jets featured cross-continent range and offered wide-cabin comfort.

APS Service Program/FAST Program

May 7, 2002 - Gulfstream launches Airborne Product Support service program
May 16, 2011 - Gulfstream introduces Field and Airborne Support Teams (FAST)

The Airborne Product Support program set a new standard for aviation customer service. Gulfstream converted a Gulfstream G100 into a parts-and-repair aircraft to transport service technicians to repair aircraft under warranty anywhere in North America or the Caribbean. The service later grew to include Central America. Gulfstream added mobile service worldwide in 2011 with the introduction of the Field and Airborne Support Teams, or FAST. FAST technicians provide service via aircraft, train, automobile or van.

G550 First Flight

July 18, 2002 - Gulfstream G550 makes first flight

The Gulfstream G550 revolutionized the pilot experience in business aviation. The aircraft featured the new PlaneView cockpit. PlaneView integrated several avionics features, including an infrared camera that revealed terrain and runway lights in low-visibility conditions, known as an Enhanced Vision System. The G550 was so technologically advanced, the aircraft won the 2003 Robert J. Collier Trophy, the North America aerospace industry’s most prestigious award for technological achievement. The G550 also stretched the reach of ultralong-range business travel, linking cities around the world, such as Seoul and Orlando, Florida; Washington D.C. and Dubai; and Tokyo and Paris. The G550 accommodates four crew members and up to 18 passengers. The G550 first flew on July 18, 2002, and entered into service in 2003.

G450 First Flight/G450 Biofuels

April 30, 2003 - Gulfstream G450 makes first flight
June 22, 2011 - Gulfstream G450 becomes first business jet to cross Atlantic Ocean using biofuels

The Gulfstream G450 incorporated the Gulfstream G550’s technological advances into the popular Gulfstream GIV airframe. Gulfstream integrated the PlaneView cockpit into the aircraft and redesigned the wing to reduce drag and allow for greater fuel capacity. The G450 seats 12 to 16 passengers depending on the executive configuration. The G450 first flew on April 30, 2003, and entered service in May 2005.

G150 First Flight

May 3, 2005 - Gulfstream G150 makes first flight

The Gulfstream G150 redefined comfort and efficiency in midsize jets. The six to eight-passenger aircraft boasts a wide cabin, class-leading speed and fuel efficiency, and cross-country range. The G150 covers 3,000 nautical miles/5,556 kilometers at Mach 0.75 with a top speed of Mach 0.85. The G150 first flew on May 3, 2005, and entered service in August 2006.

RDC Opens

May 19, 2006 - Gulfstream opens Savannah Research and Development Center

Gulfstream Aerospace expanded its Savannah, Georgia, headquarters to include a Research and Development Center. The project was part of a US$400 million expansion plan. The RDC houses personnel from Engineering, Manufacturing, Planning, Product Support and Materials.

Quiet Spike

October 23, 2006 - Gulfstream’s Quiet Spike goes supersonic

The revolutionary Quiet Spike™ highlighted Gulfstream’s ongoing research into supersonic flight. The telescoping device fits on an aircraft’s nose and spreads the sonic boom shockwaves over the length of the 24-foot-long spike and the airframe surface to minimize the effects of breaking the sound barrier. NASA first flight-tested the Quiet Spike in 2006 as a proof of concept mounted on a modified F-15 fighter.

SV-PFD

January 28, 2008 - Gulfstream debuts Synthetic Vision-Primary Flight Display system

The Synthetic Vision-Primary Flight Display system enhances safety by providing pilots an artificial view of the environment ahead. The SV-PFD takes data from ground proximity warning systems to produce three-dimensional, color images of terrain, obstacles, runways and approaches. Gulfstream announced plans for the SV-PFD in 2006 and introduced the system in 2008.

G650 First Flight/G650 Enters Service

November 25, 2009 - Gulfstream G650 makes first flight
December 2012 - Gulfstream G650 enters service as the world’s fastest business jet

The Gulfstream G650 debuted as the most advanced aircraft in business aviation. The aircraft can fly 7,000 nautical miles/12,964 kilometers via its 51,000-feet/15,545-meter cruising altitude and Mach 0.85 cruising speed. The G650 has a maximum operating speed of Mach 0.925. The G650’s cabin measures 2,138 cubic feet/60.54 cubic meters and is accented by 16 large panoramic windows. The G650 accommodates up to 18 passengers in as many as four distinct living areas. The G650 first flew on November 25, 2009, and entered service in December 2012 as the world’s fastest civilian aircraft.

G280 First Flight/G280 Enters Service

December 11, 2009 - Gulfstream G280 makes first flight

The Gulfstream G280 reset the standard for the super-midsize aircraft class. The G280 boasts intercontinental range and a cruise speed equal to long-range aircraft while burning up to 12 percent less fuel than its rivals. Cabin amenities include a cabin management tool and an in-flight accessible baggage compartment. Gulfstream incorporated the PlaneView cockpit into the G280 and equipped the aircraft with autobrake and autothrottle systems. The G280 seats eight to 10 passengers in executive configurations. The G280 first flew on December 12, 2009, and entered service in November 2012.

G650 Sets World Record

July 3, 2013 - Gulfstream G650 sets world record for westbound, around-the-world flight in 41 hours, 7 minutes

The Gulfstream G650 set the world speed record for a westbound circumnavigation at 41 hours, 7 minutes and also claimed 22 city-pair speed records en route. The 20,310-nautical-mile flight started and finished in San Diego, California, with stops in Guam, Dubai and Cape Verde. The G650 flew each leg at Mach 0.90, the aircraft’s standard high speed cruise.

G650ER Announced

May 19, 2014 - Gulfstream introduces G650ER

The Gulfstream G650ER extends the reach of nonstop business travel to 7,500 nautical miles/13,890 kilometers. Gulfstream’s flagship aircraft flew key city-pair connections, such as Hong Kong to Teterboro, New Jersey, and Los Angeles to Melbourne, Australia, prior to its unveiling. Deliveries are scheduled to begin in the first quarter of 2015.

All-New G500 And G600 Announced

October 14, 2014 - Gulfstream Introduces New Aircraft Family

The all-new Gulfstream G500 and Gulfstream G600 establish new class-leading benchmarks for optimized performance, cabin design and technology. The aircraft fly farther faster than other jets in their classes while providing the comfort of wide and stylish cabins. Gulfstream advanced the state-of-the-art in the G500 and G600 by introducing the Gulfstream Symmetry Flight Deck™ with touch-screen displays, active control sidesticks and Intelligence-by-Wire™ flight controls.

G650ER Enters Service

November 14, 2014 - Deliveries Of New Gulfstream Flagship Begin

The Gulfstream G650ER extends the reach of nonstop business travel to 7,500 nautical miles/13,890 kilometers. Gulfstream’s flagship aircraft flew key city-pair connections, such as Hong Kong to Teterboro, New Jersey, and Los Angeles to Melbourne, Australia, prior to its unveiling. The G650ER has a maximum operating speed of Mach 0.925 and the aircraft’s cabin accommodates up to 18 passengers in as many as four distinct living areas.

Learn about pioneering aircraft

Gulfstream G650

Gulfstream G650

The G650 makes once-distant cities all part of a day’s work, and with the lowest pressurized cabin altitude of any business aircraft, passengers arrive feeling refreshed and ready for whatever opportunities lay ahead.

Gulfstream G150

Gulfstream G150

Start the day early in New York, and be in Los Angeles for lunch. In the Gulfstream G150, a coast-to-coast trip is less than six hours nonstop at Mach 0.80.

Gulfstream G550

Gulfstream G550

The Gulfstream G550 has earned many admirers, whether by winning the prestigious Robert J. Collier Trophy or by being named by owners as the best-in-value business aircraft. What’s behind the success?

Gulfstream G450

Gulfstream G450

Functionality is a mainstay of the Gulfstream G450. This is an aircraft that offers more payload, more cabin configurations and has a cockpit equipped with advanced guidance systems, some of which aren’t even available outside the Gulfstream fleet.